Author Topic: Graphical telemetry  (Read 15786 times)

jarowww

  • Guest
Graphical telemetry
« on: January 10, 2012, 10:43:29 PM »
I'm trying to develop aplication to present telemetry in graphical form. I would like to ask someone to check if code that i have written is working. It should take only couple of minutes.

Download and unpack zip file.
There is file "TelemetryAnalyser.exe" to run it you would need Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5. If there is no start error it should look similar to window in telemetry.jpg.
In folder "plugin" there are two plugins for 32 and 64 systems (TelemetryAnalyserPlugin_KRP.dll). Copy one of plugins to "...\Kart Racing Pro\plugins" folder and start game. If there is error when game is starting plugin doesnt work. If there is no error after making couple laps plugin should generate .log files in "\Kart Racing Pro" folder. In zip there is example of such file (Lonato Short 20-38 10-1-2012.log).

I tested program only on 2 PC with 32 Windows xp with SP3.

Sorry for my english and thanks for help.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2012, 01:16:30 PM by jarowww »

dibu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 664
    • View Profile
Re: Graphical telemetry
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2012, 10:46:34 AM »
Thanks for the nice tool, normally I should do my work now, but I couldn't resist to test it. ;)

First of all it works. I testetd on a Win7-64 system. A log file is written with the 32bit DLL. The 64bit DLL doesn't write anything. As KRP is a 32bit application, I think we don't need the 64bit version at all. PiBoSo also has only one DLL for all OSs.

If you installed KRP in the default folder (C:\Program Files(x86)\Kart Racing Pro) you need to start the TelemetryAnalyser.exe as Administrator to gain access to the .log file
 
I don't have much time during the day, so I can hopefully do more testing this evening.


dibu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 664
    • View Profile
Re: Graphical telemetry
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2012, 04:39:59 PM »
What I'm missing is the possibility to zoom the graphs without enlarging the window.
It would be also useful to see a graphical reference in the track map if you move the mouse in a graph.

It's nice that I can compare different seesions by using the add telemetry button.  ;D
« Last Edit: January 11, 2012, 04:43:47 PM by dibu »

tubefactor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Graphical telemetry
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2012, 10:30:34 PM »
Tool works well on my 32 bit Windows Vista OS  ;)

Quote
It would be also useful to see a graphical reference in the track map if you move the mouse in a graph.

Dibu: I believe you can do this by enabling the tracing function
You can find it under >add<
When it looks fast it usually goes fast....

dibu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 664
    • View Profile
Re: Graphical telemetry
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2012, 11:04:18 AM »
Thanks, I missed that point. :)

jarowww

  • Guest
Re: Graphical telemetry
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2012, 01:29:08 PM »
Thanks for help! First time i tried to start it on another PC it showed only errors :) .

dibu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 664
    • View Profile
Re: Graphical telemetry
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2012, 08:03:32 PM »
Bug report: ;)
With your dll in the plugin folder KRP will crash if you try to start Essay Short.
Maybe the name "Circuit International d'Essay - Short" is too long for one of your variables.
Until now I didn't find another circuit which is affected.

dibu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 664
    • View Profile
Re: Graphical telemetry
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2012, 08:18:50 PM »
Problem solved. Your new version from today also works with Essay Short.
Thanks. :)

jarowww

  • Guest
Re: Graphical telemetry
« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2012, 08:24:39 PM »
You should download new version it's fixed. But you even guessed precise reason for crash  :)
EDIT: Too late.

tubefactor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Graphical telemetry
« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2012, 10:14:57 PM »
Is the new version compatible with the LOG files from the previous version?
When it looks fast it usually goes fast....

jarowww

  • Guest
Re: Graphical telemetry
« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2012, 11:17:35 PM »
No. There was some changes to add split times

jarowww

  • Guest
Re: Graphical telemetry
« Reply #11 on: January 21, 2012, 08:34:19 PM »
Added zoom. I hope interface is self explanatory.

dibu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 664
    • View Profile
Re: Graphical telemetry
« Reply #12 on: January 22, 2012, 10:01:04 AM »
The zoom function makes it much more usable, thanks. :)

In the track map I would prefer to see the whole track with moving markers which show the actual positions.
But I guess this will be difficult when zooming.

Go on, you made a very nice tool. :) :)

tubefactor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Graphical telemetry
« Reply #13 on: January 22, 2012, 01:19:38 PM »
Quote
Go on, you made a very nice tool.

+1
When it looks fast it usually goes fast....

jarowww

  • Guest
Re: Graphical telemetry
« Reply #14 on: January 22, 2012, 01:31:21 PM »
...
In the track map I would prefer to see the whole track with moving markers which show the actual positions.
...
I don't quite get it. You mean when you have tracing enabled it should show something like this