Author Topic: multi-monitor  (Read 25145 times)

PiBoSo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1866
    • View Profile
    • Email
multi-monitor
« on: May 23, 2011, 01:30:11 PM »
Multi-monitors support is experimental, as it was not tested.
So this is a call to all the users with access to a triple-screen setup: please report if it works correctly and if changes are needed.

To enable it, open core.ini in Kart Racing Pro installation directory, and add the following lines:
Code: [Select]
[display]
monitor=0
setup=monitors.cfg

An example of a minimal cfg file with 3 identical monitors:
Code: [Select]
primary
{
screen_distance = 600
screen_width = 400
screen_height = 225
width = 420
height = 260
}

global
{
angle_x = 40
}

monitor0
{
display = 1
        pos_x = -1
res_x = 800
res_y = 600
bpp = 32
        multisample = 4
}

monitor1
{
display = 2
pos_x = 1
res_x = 800
res_y = 600
        bpp = 32
        multisample = 4
}

"screen_distance" is the distance of the eyes from the primary screen, "screen_width" and "screen_height" are the size of the screen only, while "width" and "height" include the border. All measure are in millimeters.
"angle_x" is the angle ( in degrees ) between monitors.
"pos_x" is the monitor position relative to primary one. Negative numbers mean left, positive ones right.


The full options are:
Code: [Select]
global
{
angle_x = 50
angle_y = 0
}

monitor0
{
display = 1
res_x = 800
res_y = 600
multisample = 4
bpp = 32
width = 352
height = 198
pos_x = -1
pos_y = 0
shift_x = 0
shift_y = 0
shift_z = 0
angle_x = 0
angle_y = 0
}

Please note the "angle_y" in global section and "pos_y". They allow to set vertical angle and position, where positive is up and negative down.
You can also set screen "width" and "height" for each monitor, if it doesn't match the primary one.

A maximum of 10 external monitors are supported.

NOTE:
You will have a big performance hit. However, the code will be optimized when everything is working correctly.
« Last Edit: June 06, 2015, 07:12:47 PM by PiBoSo »

PiBoSo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1866
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: multi-monitor
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2011, 01:25:43 PM »
No one?


aireisor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
    • Kart Racing Pro videos
Re: multi-monitor
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2011, 01:31:38 PM »
I'm waiting for somebody to verify that this works with Nvidia before buying two additional displays :)

shutaro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: multi-monitor
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2011, 02:56:02 PM »
Hi, I have 1280x1024 + 1680x1050 + 1280x1024 monitors
*and C2D E8400 + HD4890 + HD5450 Win7 Ent. x64
and I am usually using SoftTH.
When I set resolutions above, got 15 FPS.
and,
800x600 + 1280x800 + 800x600 was also 15 FPS.
1280x1024 + 1680x1050 + 1280x1024 was 8 FPS.

Hit 40 FPS when reduced graphic options with 800x600 + 1280x800 + 800x600.

« Last Edit: May 25, 2011, 03:08:58 PM by shutaro »

PiBoSo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1866
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: multi-monitor
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2011, 03:10:16 PM »
Hi, I have 1280x1024 + 1680x1050 + 1280x1024 monitors
*and C2D E8400 + HD4890 + HD5450 Win7 Ent. x64
and I am usually using SoftTH.
When I set resolutions above, got 15 FPS.
and,
800x600 + 1280x800 + 800x600 was also 15 FPS.
1280x1024 + 1680x1050 + 1280x1024 was 8 FPS.

Thank you for the feedback.
FPS drop is a know problem, that will be addressed in the next release.
Except for performance, are you happy with results? Is triple-monitor working correctly?
Do you need changes?
« Last Edit: May 25, 2011, 03:13:26 PM by PiBoSo »

shutaro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: multi-monitor
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2011, 11:31:38 PM »
YES! Thats GREAT! Thank you so much :-)
No nvidia sorrund, no Eyefinity, no TH2GO, and no SoftTH but KRP triple monitor work correctly!
I will be able to race with this configuration and 40 FPS.
I was karting on only center monitor before, so I am happy now :)

but my PC could run iRacing 50 FPS with SoftTH and some high graphics options,
so I will be happy enough when KRP triple monitor hit 50 FPS with better graphics :)
*16bit, AA off, Texture size Low, Bilinear Filter, AF 1x now

mochablendy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: multi-monitor
« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2011, 03:58:21 AM »
No nvidia sorrund, no Eyefinity, no TH2GO, and no SoftTH but KRP triple monitor work correctly!
KRP can triple-head without any tools!? omg.
I will try it later...

shutaro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: multi-monitor
« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2011, 06:10:53 AM »

PiBoSo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1866
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: multi-monitor
« Reply #8 on: May 26, 2011, 08:58:40 AM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sTH_KY1QbWE

Thank you very much for the feedback and for the video.
Could you please open core.ini file in Kart Racing Pro installation directory and change NoPBO from 1 to 0? It should improve performance a bit.



shutaro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: multi-monitor
« Reply #9 on: May 26, 2011, 03:29:24 PM »
Could you please open core.ini file in Kart Racing Pro installation directory and change NoPBO from 1 to 0? It should improve performance a bit.
Just tried that and improved 3-4 FPS, Thank you :)

mochablendy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: multi-monitor
« Reply #10 on: May 26, 2011, 08:53:10 PM »
my test result is here :)

my PC spec:
Q6600@3GHz, 4GB mem, HD5870 + HD4870, 24" 1920x1200 + 20" 1600x1200 * 2

monitors.cfg:
Code: [Select]
primary
{
screen_distance = 850
screen_width = 520
screen_height = 324
width = 560
height = 366
}

global
{
angle_x = 30
}

monitor0
{
display = 1
        pos_x = -1
res_x = 1024
res_y = 768
bpp = 16
        multisample = 4
}

monitor1
{
display = 2
pos_x = 1
res_x = 1024
res_y = 768
        bpp = 16
        multisample = 4
}


single monitor(with graphic options below): 75 - 125 FPS

3 monitors(with same graphic options above): 23 - 26 FPS
3 monitors(graphic options tweaked): 27 - 32 FPS

same above but NoPBO=0: 28 - 33 FPS

PiBoSo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1866
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: multi-monitor
« Reply #11 on: May 26, 2011, 09:10:15 PM »

Thank you for your test.
Are multi-monitor settings working correctly?
Is rendering correct on all monitors, with proper bezel compensation?

mochablendy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: multi-monitor
« Reply #12 on: May 26, 2011, 09:40:51 PM »

Thank you for your test.
Are multi-monitor settings working correctly?
Is rendering correct on all monitors, with proper bezel compensation?
yes :)
my concerns is performance improvement because all others perfect.

Racehard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 740
    • View Profile

Stark

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
    • Email
JP- Racing

You must always believe you will become the best, but you must never believe you have done so. - Juan Manuel Fangio