• Welcome to Kart Racing Pro Official Forum. Please login or sign up.

April 28, 2024, 04:14:59 PM

News:

Please read the FORUM RULES

Help for new track

Started by malny, September 19, 2012, 02:54:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

malny

hello, I am a beginner but I learn fast ..  ;D
I'm doing some tests before creating my first track ... but I have some problems:

1 - my wire fence (a plane with alpha map) works well, but is only visible from the front.
2 - how do you get the dynamic surface? my track have only the puddles
3 - time lap does not work, but the intermediate work (centreline is close & merge) ???

thanks to all
p.s sorry for my english

EVO

September 19, 2012, 06:20:03 AM #1 Last Edit: September 19, 2012, 01:48:52 PM by EVO
1.  copy the wire fence mesh and apply a NORMAL modifier in 3ds MAX

2.  Apply a shader to the track surface by naming a file with extension .SHD the same name as your tracks texture
    for example my track surface is  TARMAX.tga my shader will be TARMAX.shd
    the file must be in the same folder as the texture.  Open this file with notepad and put:

bump
{
map = normal_map.tga  (bump map texture with specular in  the alpha channel)
}
specular
{
shininess = 6 (controls light reflection)
}

then In tracked make sure you Generte the surface before you save the TRP, to do this click surface and generate, then edit to encompass the entire track

3.  The center line shoud have the first segment as a straight and the last is a curve.  Also make sure it is completely closed.
Sometimes you have to close it multiple times. then Merge, then generate the surface.

In Racing Data make sure you Start/finish location is right , splits, speedtrap, checkpoints. 
Left should always have a negative number    EX. Long:432    Left:-10     Right:10
To download all my dashes, airboxes, tracks, and more
click here or see my personal website

LIAM-36-AUS

Quote from: EVO on September 19, 2012, 06:20:03 AM