Kart Racing Pro Official Forum

Mods => Plugins => Topic started by: SimRacer on January 07, 2011, 02:25:26 am

Title: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: SimRacer on January 07, 2011, 02:25:26 am
I have been talking with the developers over at X-Sim about supporting KRP. There is some progress happening, please see the following thread.

http://www.x-simulator.de/forum/kart-racing-pro-motion-support-t2915.html
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: Ensonic on January 07, 2011, 12:15:40 pm
WoW! That would be awesome when Motion and Bass Shakers via X-Sim were supported!!!
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: SimRacer on January 07, 2011, 06:08:11 pm
The guys over there have a working plugin available for testing.

@piboso the developer at xsim had the following issues:

- Gear values shows always zero
- yaw,pitch,roll velocity values does not make sense, if the car stand still they are greater than zero
- autodetection does not work, the functions for start and stop are not called?
- the values are averages over 40ms. I read this in the acceleration description.
Instead of a averaged value a median value should be used in a simulator output, else the output is delayed because of a middle value.
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: PiBoSo on January 07, 2011, 11:28:42 pm

Please check that structure alignment for DLL compilation is set at 8 bytes.

Only acceleration is averaged over the latest 40ms. All other values are unfiltered.
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: SimRacer on January 08, 2011, 04:05:40 am
Ok I will pass that on. I think they would like the acceleration to be a median like they say for accuracy. Is that a possibility?
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: SimRacer on January 11, 2011, 01:49:06 pm
UPDATE:

I can confirm that both the x-sim developer and myself both have all the above things correctly set. We are both experiencing delays in the telemetry, he the acceleration values and I the speed.

Moving forward, Timing accuracy of the telemetry is very important for our projects. At this stage the x-sim dev's look like they don't want to support KRP until the timing is spot on. Are there any plans for development of the telemetry system in the next release?
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: PiBoSo on January 11, 2011, 02:56:15 pm
Could you please explain more about the delay issue?
You get telemetry data with an accurate, evenly spaced, timestamp. But the plugin function is NOT called with a fixed timing.

Are the values ( yaw, pitch and roll velocity and gear ) correct now?
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: SimRacer on January 12, 2011, 01:17:04 am
Quote from: PiBoSo on January 11, 2011, 02:56:15 pm
But the plugin function is NOT called with a fixed timing.


Could this be the problem? For the hardware to be correctly reacting to what is happening in the sim the telemetry needs to have up to the moment data. Is the timing always slightly behind due to the plugins not having fixed timing or does it require more frequent data reads of the sim data?

I mentioned that I saw it happening with the speed but now also know that its happening with the RPM also. If i take off from the pit for instance, I takes a second or two before the speed is output even when there is speed showing on the kart wheel screen in the sim.

Quote from: PiBoSo on January 11, 2011, 02:56:15 pm
Are the values ( yaw, pitch and roll velocity and gear ) correct now?


For me, Yes. Not sure about the x-sim dev, but regardles of that, we are both experiencing the same delay issue.
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: PiBoSo on January 14, 2011, 12:53:09 pm

There is no delay in output.
Please check your source code.
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: SimRacer on January 14, 2011, 02:20:59 pm
Quote from: PiBoSo on January 14, 2011, 12:53:09 pm

There is no delay in output.
Please check your source code.


Here is the code that is used for the x-sim plugin. Both the developer and I can't see why this code would be responsible for delays or any other issues that are being experienced. It would be great if you can point out any issues as to why this approach would be causing the delays.

http://www.x-simulator.de/forum/download/file.php?id=6315 (http://www.x-simulator.de/forum/download/file.php?id=6315)
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: splunk4u01 on May 30, 2011, 07:39:29 pm
Has there been any movement on this project? This is a really great game. I would love to have it working with motion.
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: SimRacer on June 09, 2011, 03:55:46 pm
There were some concerns from the x-sim dev guy that there is some delay in the telemetry. I saw this too when I ran a very simple test app. Not sure about the state of it all now. I would also like to see them implement it so I can use it on my SimXperience setup :)
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: elude107 on July 11, 2011, 11:43:22 pm
Should that plugin be working? I tried it but the X-Sim Profiler doesn't get any input data except for my joystick
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: SimRacer on July 12, 2011, 06:48:59 am
I have not tried it. I think that's a question you might need to post over in the x-sim forum. If you make any progress let me know!
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: sk972 on December 18, 2012, 08:39:49 am
Hello !

What news about the plugins for X-Sim ?

I have downloaded the last version and found "KartRacingPlugin.dll" in the Plugin directory...

I started to develop my own plugin... And transfer the telemetry in via a file.
It's a positive experience.

Regards,
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: prodigy on April 01, 2013, 11:29:04 pm
Hi,

we are trying to make KRPro work with X-Sim3 and we are having no luck with latest KRP build and plugin. X-Sim admin is low on time and he asked me if I can do this for him and ask for some help.

I will quote message from Sirnoname to me describing the problem:

QuoteThe plugin do not get loaded in any case.
AND the sample telemetry.dll plugin, the official one, does also not work anymore (renamed the dlo to dll!).

QuoteTelemetry.dll is their own plugin test example that comes with the installer. That writes the telemetry in a telemtry_xxx.txt file if it is renamed from dlo to dll. Additionally this example plugin is older and is not compatible with the source. So I think that my plugin would work if the plugin interface is activated somehow thruogh a game menu or ini file or bugfix.
It does not work as the X-Sim plugin does not work. It is not loaded, maybe I need to switch something to load that plugin.


Any suggestion what to do?
Are we doing something wrong?
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: PiBoSo on April 02, 2013, 01:14:54 am
Quote from: prodigy on April 01, 2013, 11:29:04 pm
Hi,

we are trying to make KRPro work with X-Sim3 and we are having no luck with latest KRP build and plugin. X-Sim admin is low on time and he asked me if I can do this for him and ask for some help.

I will quote message from Sirnoname to me describing the problem:

QuoteThe plugin do not get loaded in any case.
AND the sample telemetry.dll plugin, the official one, does also not work anymore (renamed the dlo to dll!).

QuoteTelemetry.dll is their own plugin test example that comes with the installer. That writes the telemetry in a telemtry_xxx.txt file if it is renamed from dlo to dll. Additionally this example plugin is older and is not compatible with the source. So I think that my plugin would work if the plugin interface is activated somehow thruogh a game menu or ini file or bugfix.
It does not work as the X-Sim plugin does not work. It is not loaded, maybe I need to switch something to load that plugin.


Any suggestion what to do?
Are we doing something wrong?


Plugins extension must NOT be renamed from DLO to DLL.
DLO is used for output plugins, DLI for input plugins.
More info:
http://forum.kartracing-pro.com/index.php?topic=6.0
http://forum.kartracing-pro.com/index.php?topic=620.0
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: prodigy on April 02, 2013, 02:22:19 pm
Thank you very much for your support!

We misunderstood that .dlo must be renamed to .dll.
We have changed x-sim plugin also to .dlo and now we got it working.
So both telemetry file and x-sim plugin needs to be with .dlo.
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: sk972 on April 03, 2013, 01:13:59 pm
Great !!!

Than you a lot !
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: VELOCIPEDE on August 05, 2014, 10:50:09 pm
my XSim don't work with the beta 11, i don't have the movement
what i need?
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: VELOCIPEDE on August 06, 2014, 12:13:01 am
in Kart Racing Pro\plugins i have cartplugin.dlo

in C:\X-Sim\Plugin i have KartRacingPlugin.dll

any help please
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: VELOCIPEDE on August 06, 2014, 08:39:49 am
the beta 10 work correctly  :o
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: VELOCIPEDE on January 03, 2015, 11:21:28 am
please update the plugin for the last version beta 12 of KRP, thanks  :(
Title: Re: X-Sim Motion Support
Post by: VELOCIPEDE on July 30, 2015, 09:43:23 pm
an update for the x-sim plugin that work's with the last beta 14c?