Kart Racing Pro Official Forum

Mods => Plugins => Topic started by: jarowww on January 10, 2012, 11:43:29 PM

Title: Graphical telemetry
Post by: jarowww on January 10, 2012, 11:43:29 PM
I'm trying to develop aplication to present telemetry in graphical form. I would like to ask someone to check if code that i have written is working. It should take only couple of minutes.

Download and unpack zip file.
There is file "TelemetryAnalyser.exe" to run it you would need Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5. If there is no start error it should look similar to window in telemetry.jpg.
In folder "plugin" there are two plugins for 32 and 64 systems (TelemetryAnalyserPlugin_KRP.dll). Copy one of plugins to "...\Kart Racing Pro\plugins" folder and start game. If there is error when game is starting plugin doesnt work. If there is no error after making couple laps plugin should generate .log files in "\Kart Racing Pro" folder. In zip there is example of such file (Lonato Short 20-38 10-1-2012.log).

I tested program only on 2 PC with 32 Windows xp with SP3.

Sorry for my english and thanks for help.
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: dibu on January 11, 2012, 11:46:34 AM
Thanks for the nice tool, normally I should do my work now, but I couldn't resist to test it. ;)

First of all it works. I testetd on a Win7-64 system. A log file is written with the 32bit DLL. The 64bit DLL doesn't write anything. As KRP is a 32bit application, I think we don't need the 64bit version at all. PiBoSo also has only one DLL for all OSs.

If you installed KRP in the default folder (C:\Program Files(x86)\Kart Racing Pro) you need to start the TelemetryAnalyser.exe as Administrator to gain access to the .log file

I don't have much time during the day, so I can hopefully do more testing this evening.

Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: dibu on January 11, 2012, 05:39:59 PM
What I'm missing is the possibility to zoom the graphs without enlarging the window.
It would be also useful to see a graphical reference in the track map if you move the mouse in a graph.

It's nice that I can compare different seesions by using the add telemetry button.  ;D
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: tubefactor on January 11, 2012, 11:30:34 PM
Tool works well on my 32 bit Windows Vista OS  ;)

QuoteIt would be also useful to see a graphical reference in the track map if you move the mouse in a graph.

Dibu: I believe you can do this by enabling the tracing function
You can find it under >add<
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: dibu on January 12, 2012, 12:04:18 PM
Thanks, I missed that point. :)
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: jarowww on January 12, 2012, 02:29:08 PM
Thanks for help! First time i tried to start it on another PC it showed only errors :) .
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: dibu on January 15, 2012, 09:03:32 PM
Bug report: ;)
With your dll in the plugin folder KRP will crash if you try to start Essay Short.
Maybe the name "Circuit International d'Essay - Short" is too long for one of your variables.
Until now I didn't find another circuit which is affected.
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: dibu on January 15, 2012, 09:18:50 PM
Problem solved. Your new version from today also works with Essay Short.
Thanks. :)
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: jarowww on January 15, 2012, 09:24:39 PM
You should download new version it's fixed. But you even guessed precise reason for crash  :)
EDIT: Too late.
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: tubefactor on January 15, 2012, 11:14:57 PM
Is the new version compatible with the LOG files from the previous version?
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: jarowww on January 16, 2012, 12:17:35 AM
No. There was some changes to add split times
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: jarowww on January 21, 2012, 09:34:19 PM
Added zoom. I hope interface is self explanatory.
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: dibu on January 22, 2012, 11:01:04 AM
The zoom function makes it much more usable, thanks. :)

In the track map I would prefer to see the whole track with moving markers which show the actual positions.
But I guess this will be difficult when zooming.

Go on, you made a very nice tool. :) :)
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: tubefactor on January 22, 2012, 02:19:38 PM
QuoteGo on, you made a very nice tool.

+1
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: jarowww on January 22, 2012, 02:31:21 PM
Quote from: dibu on January 22, 2012, 11:01:04 AM
...
In the track map I would prefer to see the whole track with moving markers which show the actual positions.
...
I don't quite get it. You mean when you have tracing enabled it should show something like this
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: dibu on January 22, 2012, 05:07:50 PM
Yes I meant something similar like your attached screen.


I sometimes work with the Performancebox and the Driftbox.
Their analysis software is not too complicated and works quite well.
Maybe you can find some further ideas there.

If you are interested in having a look at it, here you can download the PERFORMANCE TOOLS.
http://www.performancebox.co.uk/dlsoftware.html

Here are some video tutorials which show how it works.
http://vboxusa.com/performancedrift/tutorials.php

If you need some recorded files for testing, I can give you (Hockenheim GP, Nordschleife..).

Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: jarowww on January 22, 2012, 06:02:18 PM
Yep some sample files would be useful.
As i understand you thought about drawing track limits. And then drawing lap line.
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: dibu on January 22, 2012, 06:51:45 PM
Quote from: jarowww on January 22, 2012, 06:02:18 PM
As i understand you thought about drawing track limits. And then drawing lap line.

When I use your tracing function, the track map window shows the lines up to the point where my cursor moves.
This makes it hard to know at which point of the circuit you are, especially if zoom is used.

I would prefer if the complete laps are shown in the track map window and I see a cursor moving along the lines.

To have also the track limits would be perfect, but these limits would have to be created for each new circuit because they are not included in the recorded data. So maybe this is an option for the future.


Here are some samples including the circuit layout files.
http://www.mediafire.com/?wryl3cw7c7zizt3


Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: jarowww on January 22, 2012, 08:34:11 PM
So something like this ? You are making good point about seeing full line so it will be definitely included in future program versions. Far now i'm posting tweaked program version (be aware there is a bug that i just noticed it will be fixed later).
I'm loving idea of track limits. I think i will add this option and prepare at least one track data. I know that piboso released tool for map editing so taking limits can be done by hand.
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: dibu on January 22, 2012, 09:16:45 PM
Quote from: jarowww on January 22, 2012, 08:34:11 PM
So something like this ?
Yes, thats what I meant.
Quote from: jarowww on January 22, 2012, 08:34:11 PM
I'm loving idea of track limits.
Perfect, it makes it easier to judge the lines if you see the track limits. :)

Everything ok with the Performance Tools and my samples?
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: jarowww on January 22, 2012, 10:13:32 PM
Sorry didn't checked yet.
I have made track boundaries for essay short. I'm biased but it really looks good.
Download files right click track map and click "load boundaries"

EDIT:
Program works and loads your files. I'm now trying to find my way around program.
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: dibu on January 22, 2012, 10:40:52 PM
Very nice progress, I'm impressed - thanks :D
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: dibu on January 23, 2012, 12:25:04 PM
After playing a bit more with your nice program here are some suggestions.

Traction circle:
I think it would be better to show only the actual value if tracing is enabled. The view of the complete history is irritating.

Closing windows:
I can only close the three windows on the left side, maybe I'm doing something wrong with the rest.

Moving windows:
It should be possible to move a window on the screen. Now I have to reduce it at one corner and enlarge it at the opposite conrner for a movement.

Scale of time based XY-plots:
The X-axis shows an end value of 1000 instead of the time. Also the distance based plots don't show the real distance.

Changing the properties of a window:
A possibility to change the contents of a window e.g. from steer to break or from distance based to time based. At the moment I have to create a new window to see another plot.

I hope you are not nerved by my wishlist. ;D


Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: jarowww on January 23, 2012, 01:52:14 PM
QuoteTraction circle:
I think it would be better to show only the actual value if tracing is enabled. The view of the complete history is irritating.
Did you try to use "samples" box ? You can set how many previous samples you want to see.
QuoteClosing windows:
When you want to move zoom region with pressed right mouse button drop down options list for plots is disabled. Turn off "Use RMB to drag zoomed plot".
Also you can press "R" keyboard button.
QuoteMoving windows:
Yes this is irritating as hell but i left it like that because you need to do it only one time and then save project.
QuoteScale of time based XY-plots:
Yes that bit dont work.
QuoteChanging the properties of a window:
this is also irritating for my defense i will say that in future versions you will have multiple "groups" of plots. So in one group you will have time based plots, in others distance based or any combination of existing windows. For now you can only save one visible "group".
QuoteI hope you are not nerved by my wishlist
Not one bit. You give really good feedback.
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: dibu on January 23, 2012, 03:31:20 PM
Setting samples to 2 is similar to what I wanted. Maybe you can add small balls like in the attached picture if samples are set to 1.
I'm still a bit irritated about the Average function. Which value do I have to choose for seeing the real momentary g-force of the point where my cursor is.
If I dont move my cursor and play with the Average values the displayd line moves around. So far an Average of zero seems to be the most realistic.


Hehe, I knew there is trick for closing a window ;). Thanks, the R key always works.
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: jarowww on January 23, 2012, 04:53:28 PM
Add end point to traction circle - noted.
Avarage 0 means that data is displayed in unchanged form. When writing program i noticed that sometimes g-force jumps to high values. And it seemed that it isn't connected to kart movement (you are cornering with 2G and suddenly 3G sample appears). So i thought it would be good idea to add smoothing function (to hide samples that change too fast) . And this is exactly what average does.
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: dibu on January 23, 2012, 07:38:57 PM
Thanks for clarifying. I thought the same about the average function, but was not sure because of the strange behavior when only 2 samples are selected and I change the average values.
With one sample selected nothing is displayed for me. Therefore I thought it's a good idea to use this value for the biggger balls like in my attachement.

Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: jarowww on January 27, 2012, 02:17:46 PM
New version

Changes:
- move window without resizing (movement follows cursor)
   - select window, press right mouse button and select "move" to start movement.
      When done select "move" again.
   - alternativly select window and press "M" to start movment and "M" again to stop.
- fast change XY plot axis types
(REMAINDER: Selecting "Use RMB(right mouse button) to drag zoomed plot" from Zoom toolbox disbles right
      click menu for XYPlots. Disable option to access fast change menu)
   - select earlier created XY plot, right click. Option list under "Y Axis" menu show available axis
      data types. Using this option selects predefinied settings for plot (so it will change your
      plot options like ymax or ymin values).
   - right click menu "X Axis" to change x axis data type (time/distance)
   - time difference window allows change of only x axis
- Traction circle
   - Setting "samples" to 1 displays dot
   - right click menu "Last sample marker" draws dot on last sample
   - menu "Sample fading" progresivly hides previous samples
   - menu "Tracking type" <see note>
- Track map
   - track map  creation window interface
      - accesible from /Add/Track map (creates new plot)
      - alternativly from right click "Settings" (configures existing plot)
   - new options
      - selecting last sample marker type
      - displaying all samples (till now samples drawing stopped at cursor)
      - "Compute trapezoid line" options creates data samples connected to bottom base of trapezoid
      - ability to load track borders and kerbs from files in ./data/track folder. Available tracks
         Essay and Essay short.
      - options "Tracking type" <see note>"
- close window shortcut changed to "C" (form "R")
- plot colors are saved and loaded from /data/settings.xml file
- fixed lap time/distance x axis display
- plugin changed old version should be replaced.

NOTE:
Program allows creating xy plots with data drawed according to track position or lap time.
At same time project can have any number of time and distance plots. This creates specific
problem when using track map or traction circle.
<attachment1> shows problem. Middle window show time plot right window distance plot.
Tracking line is placed in same window position on all plots. So setting line on ~710m point
shows speed of 100.1 km/h. But at the same window position tracking line shows speed 90.8 km.h
in 31s lap time. This show that 31s after lap start kart wasn't on 710m point. And this
is problem for Track Map. Now if you use time xy plot to see kart position on track map its
valid. But if you are using distance xy plot with Track Map it will show invalid marker
position. That's why track map have now option to switch to Distance marking type
<attachment2>. Now Track map show marker position at 710m point.
Additional option is "auto" that changes marker display according to which window is selected.
Same applies to traction circle.
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: tubefactor on January 27, 2012, 08:30:33 PM
All I can say, awesome job ;)
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: dibu on January 27, 2012, 08:45:48 PM
Wow, very good improvements :). First impression is perfect, I will test it at the weekend when driving on some tracks.
Thank you very much.
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: jarowww on February 28, 2012, 08:59:52 PM
New version uploaded!
Well it isn't tested as well as it should be (there was lots of inner changes) but it should work.
I think this is last release because if i understand correctly piboso contacted "AIM" and we will have their professional telemetry.

Changes:
- Lap browser window (File/Lap browser)
  - allows faster management of available sessions data
    (more complex explanation will follow)
- Add latest option(File/Add latest)
  - adds most recently created file
- Session Info (Add/Session info)
  - information about session that don't fit anywhere else
- Sections (Add/Sections)
  - splits all loaded laps into multiple time sections
    (more complex explanation will follow)
  - essay short sections file added
  - sections editor (right click menu/Edit)
    - to start editor at least one lap need to be selected
- project and settings file format changed
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: Josi on February 28, 2012, 09:13:16 PM
Congrats for such a work.
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: dibu on February 28, 2012, 09:30:29 PM
Thank you very much for your work, the new version looks very good.  :)
How can we generate the inside, outside, kerbs and sections XMLs for other tracks?
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: jarowww on February 28, 2012, 11:01:52 PM
Well i think i will add couple tracks but still it need to be done by hand.
I automated it a bit by writing program that reads track editor program memory and saves data to xml. But still you need to travel with mouse cursor around track pressing button to save sample. If you want i can post it but first i need to see if it works on other pc.
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: dibu on February 29, 2012, 06:02:40 PM
If possible I would like to have it. With all the WIP tracks it's good to be able to create new XMLs.
Thanks in advance.
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: LooseEqualsFast on February 29, 2012, 06:41:15 PM
I wonder would it be easier to write something that will convert the .xls files from KRP to AIM Race Studio DRK files and just use race studio to analyze the data?
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: dibu on February 29, 2012, 07:33:13 PM
Quote from: LooseEqualsFast on February 29, 2012, 06:41:15 PM
I wonder would it be easier to write something that will convert the .xls files from KRP to AIM Race Studio DRK files and just use race studio to analyze the data?
That's why I proposed to have a look at existing analysis software some weeks ago.
But if PiBoSo signed with AIM, I guess there will be a new way of telemetry with direct .drk output instead of .csv and hopefully a map management with .mp files.

Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: jarowww on February 29, 2012, 10:58:57 PM
So AIM telemetry allows for map creation? Maybe someone can provide some samples. I don't think that format is open but just maybe it's easy to understand. But i think that they will provide soft or at least piboso creates something (if he gets file format).
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: dibu on March 01, 2012, 08:34:34 AM
I don't think it's possible to draw the track limits like in your tool.
Here you can find some manuals
http://www.aimsports.com/support/manuals.html
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: jarowww on March 01, 2012, 08:54:33 AM
Ok i think i get it. It creates map is similar way to Motec. I thought it may look like performance tools circuit overlay.
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: jarowww on March 01, 2012, 02:17:12 PM
update:
Added track boundaries and sections for default krp tracks
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: LooseEqualsFast on March 01, 2012, 10:45:57 PM
Quote from: jarowww on February 29, 2012, 10:58:57 PM
So AIM telemetry allows for map creation? Maybe someone can provide some samples. I don't think that format is open but just maybe it's easy to understand. But i think that they will provide soft or at least piboso creates something (if he gets file format).

To clarify, I wasn't trying to diminish your efforts if that's what it sounded/read like.
The AIM Race Studio software can draw a track map using the GPS channel from their newer hardware, or on their older stuff it can draw the track using the lateral G and speed/distance channel. It works quite well.

If you download race studio from AIM (its free) it comes with some drk files included for you to play with.
http://www.aimsports.com/products/race-studio/downloads.html
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: jarowww on March 01, 2012, 11:22:58 PM
QuoteTo clarify, I wasn't trying to diminish your efforts if that's what it sounded/read like.
The AIM Race Studio software can draw a track map using the GPS channel from their newer hardware, or on their older stuff it can draw the track using the lateral G and speed/distance channel. It works quite well.
No i didn't receive your post in that way. I also want to use professional tool. In your first post you proposed idea of converting xml to AIM files. To do that i would need file format used in their tool. I'm guessing it's impossible to just get this info (without some sort of agreement with company like piboso is doing). But just maybe format is so simple that it is possible to write converter. So i was trying to get info about 2 things. First is it possible to create map in this soft, you are saying that it can be done with GPS data. Second can soft receive data from separate file. Now if it can and i would get some sort of example file maybe it would be possible to replace data points with data form krp tracks.
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: LooseEqualsFast on March 02, 2012, 07:48:17 PM
Here's a .drk file from race studio. I don't think this one has a GPS channel...
http://www32.zippyshare.com/v/66986434/file.html
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: dhill on May 18, 2012, 12:50:07 PM
Sorry guys, I didn't saw "TelemetryAnalyserPlugin_KRP.dll" in attchment Zip.
pls help, thanks
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: Timo on September 26, 2012, 01:37:47 PM
There is no dll file, who can help
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: HornetMaX on January 31, 2013, 03:24:18 PM
Any news from the author of this great tool ?

I'm interested in something very similar for GP Bikes (another Piboso great game).

MaX.
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: eralp on February 04, 2013, 09:19:35 AM
anyone have a dll. ?
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: Leonardo Ratafia on July 28, 2013, 05:50:03 PM
where are the updated download links?
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: Leonardo Ratafia on July 28, 2013, 05:52:48 PM
follow this link
http://forums.piboso.com/showthread.php?tid=782
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: SAMTAHERI on October 05, 2013, 07:41:47 PM
hey guys, has anyone got this dll ? it looks like a great analyser but there is no use if it doesn't work.
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: James Beer on October 05, 2013, 08:52:25 PM
do you know the name of the dll you need? i have this working if you tell me which one i'll send it to you, remember when you want to use this run krp as administrator and the analyser as administrator that way it can access the correct files
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: SAMTAHERI on December 08, 2013, 12:07:29 PM
Hi
as the first post indicates the file name is  "TelemetryAnalyserPlugin_KRP.dll"  ande we can't find it anywhere.

please attach if you have it.
thanks
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: dibu on December 08, 2013, 02:26:26 PM
This thread is quite old (KRP beta6) and most infos are outdated.

From KRP beta7 on the the DLL format has changed. Now it uses .dlo and .dli files.

But the tool is too good to get lost in space.
Here the link to the latest version:

telemetryanalyser_14_04_13.zip
https://www.mediafire.com/?hkrurlddo6hu3k6


Here two instruction videos from the author.

Telemetry analyser - installation guide
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9PZBIBoF13o

Telemetry analyser - basics
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jx1qwfnqj7Q

No support from me, take it as it is and try your best.

Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: sam19 on February 21, 2014, 02:26:33 PM
hi guys,

iv just installed this telemetry and want to start using it i followed his install and the LOG folder but there is nothing being logged,

i have also contacted the guy that made it but was just wondering if anybody on here had the same problem and found a solution

im running the latest beta10

sam
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: James Beer on February 21, 2014, 04:06:47 PM
you have to run KRP and the Telemetry software in administrator mode  by right clicking, then stuff should appear.
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: sam19 on February 22, 2014, 12:48:01 AM
AWESOME!!!!!! thanks
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: sam19 on May 26, 2014, 07:02:29 PM
Hi iv been and bought a new computer, copied everyhting over fine but now i cant get a LOG folder to apear in my KRP folder,

sam
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: sam19 on May 26, 2014, 07:22:39 PM
i have just looked and it seems like it hasne been loggind telem data since the beta 11 upgrade, can someone else with beta 11 confirm this ?

if not i have no idea

sam
Title: Re: Graphical telemetry
Post by: VELOCIPEDE on September 25, 2015, 09:34:10 AM
this program work with the last beta14 version?